Representatives meet monthly for discussion, mutual support and resolution of matters of mutual interest. Monthly committee meetings are attended by the Officers, Affiliated Club representatives (two for each club of which only one may vote), representatives from QHM Plymouth(QHM), Royal Yachting Association (RYA), Plymouth City Council (PCC), Cattewater Harbour Commissioners (CHC), Mount Batten Centre (MBC), Plymouth Race Series (PRS) and Radio Secretaries, and PPSA appointed representatives to outside bodies. Clubs; sailing programmes are coordinated so that they are accommodated without undue interference with one another and to the requirements of the Queen’s Harbour Master Plymouth and the Civil Harbour Authorities. Power rests with the 19 affiliated clubs; the PPSA, as such, has no authority other than in those matters which have received the clubs’ mandate at a committee meeting. These include instructions relating to:-

  • Interference with safe navigation of large vessels
  • Minimum equipment for offshore and passage races
  • Notification of retirements
  • PPSA administration of the RYA Portsmouth Yardstick Scheme
  • Exclusion zone when racing in the Cattewater
  • Recreational Water Events Check off List (WECOL)
  • PPSA Organised Events (PRS and Port of Plymouth Regatta)
  • PPSA Annual Sailing Programme which is included in QHM’s Water Events Diary (WED)