PPSA Prize Giving 2016

The Port of Plymouth Sailing Association Prize Giving 2016 Report

The president and vice president welcomed members and guests to the Prizegiving at Plym Yacht Club. All were welcomed with drinks and a buffet prior to the main event of the evening.

In his address to the gathering the President (Mark Hanley) thanked Plym Yacht Club for hosting the evening. He went on to thank Ullman Sails for sponsoring once again the Ullman Sails Plymouth Race series.

The Vice President went on to present the Ullman Sails Race Series prizes and trophies. For IRC 3rd was Saltheart, Chris Williams and 2nd was Moonfish, Mark Hanley. 1st was David Oliver, Extortion 8, who was presented with the Jim Burton Memorial Trophy. For Fully Crewed Cruiser class, 3rd was Mike Nuttal – Worsley, Jos of Avon and 2nd was Ashley Crawford Mischief. 1st was Ashley Davies who was presented with the Cyril Venton Trophy. For the Double Handed class, 3rd was Red Run, Steve Andrew; 2nd was Tim Burn, Poppin. 1st was Jeff and Julie Foster who were awarded the Plym Trophy.

The President then went on to present the main PPSA prizes and trophies. The Peter Harvey Memorial Salver was awarded to Frank Edwards of Plym yacht Club. Frank wis indisposed and his daughter Clare collected the trophy on his behalf. The Molly Harvey Rosebowl was awarded to Annie Hosken of the royal Western Yacht Club who was also presented with a bouquet of flowers. The Beckerleg Trophy for services to the Port Regatta was awarded to Malcolm Wood of Saltash Sailing Club. The Philip Kemp Trophy was awarded to Alexander and Bertie Ratsey of the royal Western Yacht Club. The Yachtsman of the year, the sir Francis Drake Statuette was awarded to Neville Devonport of Saltash sailing Club. Neville addressed the meeting thanking the PPSA on behalf of all of the prize winners.

The president closed the event by thanking all for attending and hoped to see everyone in 2017.